Olongapo City Skills Training Center

Saturday, August 16, 2008


Olongapo City Mayor James “Bong” Gordon Jr. received two (2) trophies from the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) recently during the 14th Kabalikat Awards under the local government unit category.

Mayor Gordon, along with City Councilor and Sangguniang Panlungsod Labor Committee Chair Edwin Piano received the award from TESDA Sec. Augusto ‘’Boboy’’ Syjuco, TESDA Deputy Director-General for Fields Operations Rogelio C. Peyuan and Deputy Director-General for Sectoral TVET Milagros Dawa-Hernandez.

One of the major merits of Olongapo for receiving the award was the establishment of Olongapo City Technical Education Center (OCTEC) which became a community center and is now Gordon College, one of the premier educational institutions in the city.

The college, along with TESDA holds free trainings like housekeeping, welding and computer education. Over six thousand (6000) Olongapenos have already trained under the program and more are still undergoing training.

The trainings, which are TESDA accredited, usually run for six months and afterwards, the trainees, receive a ‘certificate of completion’.

The ‘Kabalikat Award’ is a TESDA annual institutional award. It aims to give recognition to the different institutions which has helped TESDA to strengthen and continue technical education and skills development.

Awardees in the LGU category also include the Office of Congresswoman Nanette Castelo Daza (NCR), Municipality of Tadian (CAR), City Government of Passi (Rgion VI), Provincial Government of Zamboanga del Norte (Region IX), Office of Congresswoman Thelma Z. Almario (Region XI) at City Government of Bislig (CARAGA).

The awarding ceremonies was held also in celebration of the 14th year anniversary of TESDA on August 14, 2008.

Mayor Bong Gordon at the awarding of ‘’14th TESDA Kabalikat Award’’. Together with Mayor Gordon are (from R-L): Deputy Director-General for Sectoral TVET Milagros Dawa-Hernandez, DOLE Under-secretary for Labor Relation Romeo C. Lagman, TESDA Secretary General Agusto ‘’Buboy’’ Syjuco and TESDA Deputy Director General for Communities and Local Government Unit Services Pastor Z. Guiao.


Post a Comment

<< Home